Porch tales

         This morning finds me ,on my porch swing,pillow at my back and my favorite blanket draped over me, pretending to keep me warm at 20 degrees. My coffee, still steaming from my cup, knowing that I will drink it quickly before this cool air, takes away its warmth.I truely love hazelnut coffee, thanks to my oldest daughter, who has taught me so many bad habits,lol. She will roll her eyes when she reads this,for sure. Well for one her grammar is refine, don’t ask me how, because I still say warsh, not wash, that’s just not in me. We have always thought she has a big part of her  mothers soul. My youngest, has the part that my momma would have taken a hair brush too, but because of her reminding me of me , the brush stays put. Our son,takes my private side, he takes things head on and won’t ask for help untill he knows that cow ain’t comin home… Thank the Lord they all took common sence, love and patience off their dad………………
Now back to the porch swing, sorry mind wonders. The geese flew in this morning, not sure if something scared them off the pond or just went fishing somewhere else. Either way they were loud and proud to be landing. They were honking like, I do when I see the kids coming over for a visit… Here on the porch I get the warm sun, which is just wonderful this morning. If you looked out the window, you would think it was in the 70’s not 20’s. The house keeps the wind off and still yet my blanket keeps me warm.
The birds are singing, and I have 3 birdhouses that have now been claimed for the summer of 2014. The babies will grow and bless me next year with a visit and maybe raise theirs. Now that’s a never-ending story. I will try to get pictures today if I can before I post this.
As I swing softly, and the chains make their creaking noise, I notice I have a bird that is creaking back..mocking bird? I can’t see it, it’s on the tree line, hidden.  I can see a squirrel  digging a nut out of the corner of my hot bed….better check that out before I plant or he will dig up my plants. The woods have eyes, as I see a buck down by the head of the branch that flows from the woods. I would think that it would be frozen but guess not. Off to the side of the house I hear one of the hens, laying our breakfast for tomorrow. I really can’t tell you in words how calming it is here  on my porch in the swing my hubbys dad made,hanging on the frame my hubby made for me. It will I hope be handed down to other generations, which Lord only knows or hubby better get busy and build 2 more swings and frames.

Well my hands are getting cold, and my coffee has now turn to ice-coffee, not bad really. I will have to leave my porch for now, but I have decided that I love to write here, so this will be a new categories for me,Porch tales has been born onto my blog. Everyone have a great day, and as for the pictures of the birds, that will have to be added later as my fingers are too cold………….

Leave a Reply

